Be an Energy Saver




7:00 to 10:30
Breakfast at the Green Living Business Forumwith CBC’s host of Power & Politics, Evan Solomon.
10:30 to 11:00
Registration & Coffee Break                  Sponsored by NAIMA Canada
11:00 to 11:15
Opening Remarks & Introductions
With Don Newman; Gary Johnson, CEEA Chair; Elizabeth McDonald, CEEA President
11:15 to 11:45
Energy Efficiency & Canadians, Survey Results
Presentors: David HerleAlex Swann, The Gandalf Group
11:45 to 12:05
The Economics of Energy Efficiency in Canada
Presentor: Carol Buckley, Director General, Office of Energy Efficiency, Natural Resources Canada
12:10 to 1:30
Keynote Luncheon
With Hon. Tom Roper, President, Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council (ASBEC)
A global perspective on energy efficiency and best practices around the world.
1:30 to 2:45
Interactive Breakout Sessions
Our audience members and experts discuss strategies to include in a future white paper.
The Role of All Levels of Government
Tim Weis, Director of Renewable Energy and Efficiency Policy, Pembina


  • Allan Crandlemire, CEO, Efficiency Nova Scotia
  • Len Farber, Senior Advisor, Norton Rose
  • Julia Langer, CEO, Toronto Atmospheric Fund
  • Bonnie Rose, President, CSA Group, Standards
  • Andrew Pape-Salmon, Senior Specialist— Energy, RDH Building Engineering Ltd.

Transportation & Energy Efficiency
Moderator: Peter Love, President, Energy Services Association of Canada


  • Cara Clairman, President & CEO, Plug’n Drive Ontario
  • Gordon Reed, Director of Customer Solutions and Sustainability, UPS Canada
  • Andrew Bowerbank, President, Bowerbank & Associates, Chief Sustainability Officer, DCL Group of Companies
2:45 to 3:00
Break                                                         Sponsored by Enbridge
3:00 to 4:15
Communicating the Energy Efficiency Message
Moderator: Brett James, Principal, Sussex Strategy Group
  • Emma Berndt, Manager, Market Development and Regulatory Affairs, Opower
  • Kaz Flinn, VP Corporate Social Responsibility, Scotiabank
  • Brisette Lucas, VP, Government Relations & Policy & Chief Privacy Officer, Electro-Federation Canada
  • Don Newman, Journalist
  • Laurie Simmonds, President & CEO, Green Living Enterprises


The Built Environment

Moderator: Andrew Pride, Vice President, Conservation, Ontario Power Authority


  • Peter Love, President, Energy Services Association of Canada
  • Alison Minato, Vice President, Sustainability, The Minto Group
  • Darryl Neate, Director of Sustainability, Oxford Properties Group
  • Jay Nordenstrom, Executive Director, NAIMA Canada
  • Sonja Winkelmann, Executive Director, Net-Zero energy Home Coalition
  • Wrap Up: Corey McBurney, President, EnerQuality


Training & Education for Energy Efficiency

Moderator: Michelle Branigan, Executive Director, Electricity Human Resources Canada


  • Paul Cadario, Distinguished Senior Fellow Global Innovation, University of Toronto
  • Gary Johnson, Professor, Centre for the Built Environment, Seneca College of Applied Arts and Technology
  • Warren Heeley, President, Heating, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada
  • Bryan Young, Manager, Training Programs, Ontario Power Authority
4:15 to 4:30
CEEA White Paper Development
With Don Newman and Brett James
4:30 to 5:30
Closing Reception                                           Sponsored by EnerQuality
CEEA Annual Meeting(Members Only)